2023: APC Zones Presidency To South, Chairmanship To North 

The All Progressives Congress (APC), may have zoned its presidential candidate for the 2023 General election to the Southern part of the country.
This is because the party, on Wednesday, approved the zoning of the chairmanship candidate of the party to North Central, thereby paving the way for Southern candidate to occupy the exhalted presidential seat in 2023.
Recall that in 2015, the party chairman, Odigie Oyegun, was from Edo State (Southern part of the country), while the presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari hailed from Katsina (the Northern part of the country.
Also, in 2019, Com. Adams Oshiomole, from Edo State was also the Chairman and President Buhari, was also returned as the presidential candidate.
However, there are no indication that the tide will change in the future, even, as the nation prepare for 2023.
With this announcement, presidential aspirants from the Southern part of the country, can now intensify their consultation and lobbying to get the APC presidential party ticket for the 2023 General election.
It could be recall that the earlier on Wednesday, the APC released its zoning list for the National Working Committee (NWC) positions, and thereby, zoned its national chairmanship office to the North-Central.
This is coming 17 days to the party’s elective national convention slated for March 26, 2022.
A statement by the party’s director of publicity, Salisu Na’inna Dambatta, noted that the party has also zoned the National Secretary position to the South-West, while the South-east will produce deputy national chairman (South) and South-South will take Deputy National Publicity Secretary.
The North-East is to get the deputy national chairman (North) position.
In a statement on Wednesday titled, ‘APC CECPC Approves Zoning Formula for National Convention’, the ruling party said during its regular meeting on March 8, 2022, the Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) has approved the recommendations of the Committee on Zoning chaired by the Kwara State governor, Abdulrahman AbdulRazak, which submitted its report on Monday.
See Details:
NORTH-CENTRAL: Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger and Plateau States
1. National Chairman
2. National Vice Chairman (North Central)
3. Deputy National Secretary
4. Deputy National Legal Adviser
5. Deputy National Publicity Secretary
6. Zonal Secretary
7. Zonal Youth Leader
8. Zonal Organising Secretary
9. Zonal Women Leader
10. Zonal Special Leader (Persons with Disabilities – PWD)
11. National Ex – Officio Member

Make your comments...